I Work In A Facility For Long-Term Coma Patients. You Won’t Believe What I Got To Do With One Of Them.

Thought Catalog

Martin HowardMartin Howard

It began like most other nights at the Lauret Nursing Home. The sound of my footsteps filled the stark, empty hallway as I did my rounds.

I had heard the orderlies refer to this area as the “vegetable patch” and their characterization wasn’t too far off. What may not be public knowledge is that coma patients oftentimes get sent to long term care facilities such as this regardless of age if they do not have any life threatening medical conditions (or hope of waking for that matter). I glided past the rooms with my goal in sight.

As I neared his suite, my feet picked up their pace. I entered Bill Waters’ room and found his wife yet again at his side. I admired this woman greatly for her devotion to Bill. After nine long years, she was still his doting wife. Seeing her almost daily really touched…

View original post 2,131 more words

Leave a Reply

