New Radio Time

Today I had my last 5 AM broadcast on 91.9 KCSB-FM in Santa Barbara. The new schedule for Winter Quarter came out (affective Jan. 13, 2014 at 6 AM) and I’m so happy to say I’ll be broadcasting Sundays from 11 AM to 12:30 PM. That means my first broadcast of the new schedule will be January 19, 2014 at 11 AM 🙂

I’m so happy! It’s one thing to wake up at 5 AM but it’s another thing to be talking while simultaneously working a sound board at that hour. For the last 3 months I’ve been doing my show from 5 – 6 AM and it’s been rough. I have to bike in the cold to get to the radio station, pick out the music, cue up the music, cue up my mic, and make Lady Second as seamless as possible. It hasn’t been easy (or been seamless for that matter) but I’m hoping with a later time on the weekends I’ll sound better – more awake, you know? And since I’m at a friendlier time I’m hoping I’ll get more female fans. (There’s no way to say this that doesn’t sound sexual, but from 5-6 AM, I was only receiving calls at the radio station from male callers…)

Plus now I won’t be the annoying neighbor asking people to be quieter at 11 PM on a Friday night. Since my show was 5-6 AM on Saturdays, my Friday nights were slaughtered, and I easily became the quietest resident in my student-living apartment building.

Leave a Reply

